Tinig, which means “voice” in Tagalog, is a student-initiated, student-run, a capella choir under the Ethnomusicology Department of UCLA. Formed in 1988 under the student direction of August Espiritu and Rex Sampaga (pictured to the right), Tinig came together for the purpose of singing the Pilipino and American National anthems in UCLA's annual Samahang Pilipino Cultural Night.

Since then, Tinig has gone on to perform in numerous venues, including the Filipino American Library Gala at the Milennium Biltmore Hotel, the Festival of Philippine Arts and Culture, UCLA's Pilipino-Graduation, the Los Angeles Premiere of the movie Mga Munting Tinig, Veterans' Hospitals, UCLA Worldfest, the Cathedral of our Lady of Angels, and UCLA's Spring Sing, catering to numerous public figures which include Randy Newman, Jennifer Paz (of Miss Saigon), Lou Diamond Philips, the Los Angeles Philippine Consulate and former President Bill Clinton. Tinig's awards include "Best Costume" at the 1994 UCLA Spring Sing, and "Best Ensemble" at the 1995 UCLA Spring Sing. Most recently, Tinig has been featured on the October 18, 2016 edition of The Daily Bruin.

Fall 2002, Tinig registered as an independent group of UCLA. By Winter 2003, under signatories Art Ambrosio, Richelle Chuatuan, and Amalia Millar, Tinig became an officially-recognized student organization, sponsored by the Ethnomusicology Department of UCLA. In Spring 2017, Tinig celebrated its 30th anniversary.

From Tagalog to Latin to English, from cultural to contemporary pop music, we spill our hearts into the lyrics of our songs. We hold no auditions, and we invite all current UCLA students who have a love for singing.

History of Names and Directors


  • 1988-1989. Rex Sampaga & August Espiritu (founders)

  • 1989-1992. Rex Sampaga

  • 1992-1993. Leila Espinosa & Rex Sampaga


  • 1993-1994. Jennifer Dailo & Robert Gaspar, Joseph Pascua & Melissa Remulla

  • 1994-1996. Roger Mationg

  • 1996-1998. Mike Trias

  • 1998-2000. Randy Gomez

  • 2000-2002. James Bartolome

TINIG AT UCLA: 2002-2011

  • 2002-2003. James Bartolome & Richelle Chuatuan

  • 2003-2006. Heidi Ambrosio

  • 2006-2007. Alan Montemayor

  • 2007-2008. Emily Bautista

  • 2008-2010. Argie Mina

  • 2010-2011. Heather Narag

TINIG CHORAL: 2011-Present

  • 2011-2012. Martin Posadas

  • 2012-2013. Cristina Prodigalidad & Michael Dimaya

  • 2013-2014. Arielle Galeon

  • 2014-2015. Jasmine De Jesus & Jiem Ronas

  • 2015-2016. Francis Villaruz

  • 2016-2017. Koichi Agapito

  • 2017-2018. Katerina Dawis & Angel-Cenaura Marino

  • 2018-2019. Gianna Villaluna & Robert Ursua

  • 2019-2020. Rayleene Miranda & Sam Fisher

  • 2020-2021: Gianna Kaye Apoderado

  • 2021-2022: Melina Diaz & Bernadette Tropel

  • 2022-2023: Josh Valerio